Complete Alphabetical Listing
If you are experiencing problems accessing any of the databases contact an Electronic Resources Coordinator at 605-773-3131 or via email.
A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z
A
- Aberdeen American News (1995-present)(via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the Aberdeen American News. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Academic Search Premier (1965+)
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Access three ways: 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Access Newspaper Archive
Searchable worldwide newspapers from 1759-1977 (excluding South Dakota). View, print or save full page historical newspapers. Access inside K-12 school or public libraries only-no at home access. - AGRICOLA (1970+)
Indexes journals and other publications on all aspects of agriculture, including animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming, agricultural economics, extension education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. There are no limits to access. - America's News Magazines (via Newsbank)
Full-text articles from 26 popular news magazines. Browse by title or search current or archived issues.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- AncestryLibrary
Of interest to those researching local history and family histories. Includes U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 thru 1930, immigration records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, the family history library and more. Available exclusively on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses, as well as on PC's of SD State Government. NOT licensed for access by use of library cards. Click for more info.
- Associations Unlimited
Contains information for approximately 455,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. Available exclusively on PC's of SD State Government. - Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls) (1999-present) (via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the The Argus Leader. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls) Index (1996-July, 2003)
Indexes and provides citations (only) to selected articles published in the Sioux Falls "Argus Leader" newspaper from January, 1996 to July, 2003. Includes obituaries; does not include national news or columns (unless relevant to SD). There are no limits to access.
- Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls) Index (1982-1995)
Indexes and provides citations (only) to selected articles published in the Sioux Falls "Argus Leader" newspaper from January, 1982 to December 1995. Does not include national news or columns (unless relevant to SD), obituaries, birth/engagement/wedding announcements, daily sports, public notices, minutes of government meetings, or police records. There are no limits to access.
B
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index
A comprehensive index to nearly 12 million biographical sketches in more than 2,700 current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. Available exclusively on PC's of SD State Government. - Business Source Premier (1965+)
The world's largest full text business database, it covers virtually all subjects related to business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
C
- Catalog (SDLN)
Describes, indexes, & locates items owned by the SD State Library, as well as 70+ other SD libraries, including every academic library in SD. Created cooperatively by 70+ South Dakota libraries that are members of the South Dakota Library Network/SDLN (including the South Dakota State Library). There are no limits to access. - Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Online, full text version of the print Contemporary Literary Criticism from Volume 95 forward. Includes index to the entire collection. Available only within the State Library building. 1 simultaneous user.
D
- Deadwood Historical Newspapers Index (1876-1905)
Indexes issues from 1876 to 1905 of these historic Deadwood papers: "Black Hills Pioneer," "Black Hills Times," and "Black Hills Champion". Created by the staff of the Deadwood Public Library, there are no limits to access. - Discovering Collection (grades 6-12)
Provides in-depth content for five core curriculum areas: literature, history, biography, science, and social studies. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
E
- EBSCOHost (all)
Links to six EBSCOHost databases: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, Teacher Reference Center, and Regional Business News. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (Spanish Language Encyclopedia)
Traducción de lengua española de la enciclopedia del descubrimiento del estudiante del libro del mundo. Los artículos, los mapas y las imágenes son incluidos.
Spanish-language translation of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, maps and images are included. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Energy Citations (1948+)
Provides indexing to energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. There are no limits to access. - ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (1966+)
Provides indexing and some full-text access to education literature and resources. There are no limits to access.
G
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas-health, history, government & law, science, education and business. These resources are available to an unlimited number of users at one time. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
H
- HeritageQuest
Of interest to those researching local history and family histories, it includes U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 thru 1930; 25,000+ family and local history books (every word searchable); the PERiodical Source Index/PERSIT (a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy & local history periodicals); and Revolutionary War Pension & Bounty Land Warrant Application Files. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Highwire Press
The largest repository of free full-text life science articles in the world, with more than 750,000 free, full-text articles online. There are no limits to access.
I
- Indian Country Today Index (1996 - June, 2003)
Indexes and provides citations (only) to articles published in the "Indian Country Today" newspaper from January, 1996 thru June?, 2003. There are no limits to access. - InfoTrac (all)
Links to six Gale InfoTrac databases. Discovering Collection (grades 6-12); InfoTrac Junior Edition (middle schools); Junior Reference Collection; Kids InfoBits (grades K-5); Professional Collection; and InfoTrac Student Edition (high schools). Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - InfoTrac Junior Edition Middle Schools (2001+)
Use this database (formerly SuperTOM Junior), to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - InfoTrac Student Edition High Schools (1985+)
Use this database (formerly SuperTOM), to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - ingenta
A global research index providing online searching by author, keyword, & publication of 25 million+ of academic/ professional articles from 30 thousand + journals available to request via InterLibrary Loan from your library or to purchase. There are no limits to access.
J
- Junior Reference Collection
A comprehensive, cross-curricular research tool that combines Gale's U*X*L products into one database to support classroom learning. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
K
- Kids Catalog (SDLN)
A library catalog designed for kids from birth thru 6th grade. There are no limits to access. - Kids InfoBits (grades K-5)
Gives children easy access to magazines, reference books, and newspaper articles that have been selected just for the age group in grades K-5. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
L
- L'Encyclopédie Découverte (French Language Encyclopedia)
L'Encyclopédie Découvertes (World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia) Les articles, les images, le diccionaire visuel, les activités et les Websites consultés sont comprise.
French-language version of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, images, a visual dictionary, activities and reviewed websites are included. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Learning Express Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more. Complete answer explanations and study suggestions. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - LexisNexis Congressional, Statistical and State Capital
Provides access to state, federal and statistical information including the Federal Register, Congressional Record, state resources and compiled statistical resources. (more information)
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.
- Library Catalog (SDLN)
Describes, indexes, & locates items owned by the SD State Library, as well as 70+ other SD libraries, including every academic library in SD. There are no limits to access. - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (mid 1960's)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State ibrary or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - LitFinder (formerly Poem Finder and Story Finder)
Provides full-text poems and short stories. Available exclusively on PC's of SD State Government.
M
- MasterFILE Premier (1975+)
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 2,000+ periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, etc. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- MedlinePLUS
This resource is designed to assist the public in locating "appropriate, authoritative health information sources." There are no limits to access. - MegaFILE (EBSCOHost) (1965+)
MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO's Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional Business News databases. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
N
- netLibrary
Full text of 10,000+ commercially published books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers & more, plus Cliffs Notes. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info. - NewsBank's America's Newspapers
Full text of current and archived electronic editions of nearly 700+ local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers-all in one easy to search interface. Includes the The Argus Leader, Aberdeen American News, Minneapolis Tribune, Denver Post, Washington Post, New York Times, etc. Available only within the State Library building.
- Newsbank Special Reports
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
P
- Professional Collection (grades K-12)
Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators updated daily. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - ProQuest (1986+)
Provides the full text (image or text+graphics) from 1,700+ magazines/journals and newspapers for k-12, college, and general users, including Barron's. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - PubMed (1964+)
Search 11 million abstracts/citations from 4,000+ peer-reviewed medical sciences and other health-related journals published worldwide. There are no limits to access.
R
- Rapid City Journal (1999+)
Index to articles published in the Rapid City Journal newspaper. There are no limits to access. - Readers’ Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Searchable online indexing of 375 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Available only within the State Library building. 1 simultaneous user. - ReferenceUSA
A directory of US businesses, governments and people. Available exclusively on PC's of SD State Government.
- Regional Business News
A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. Available 1) from home office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
S
- Sanborn Maps-SD
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for 82 South Dakota communities from 1867 to 1970. Available 1) from home office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Scirus
Covers scientific information through ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central and Patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office, and related information on the Web. There are no limits to access. - SIRS Discoverer (grades K-9)
Full-text articles and graphics from more than 1,600 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents, which were carefully selected for their educational content, interest and level of readability for middle and elementary curriculum topics. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - SIRS Researcher® (grades 6-12)
A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - SoDakLIVE
Provides a centralized search service for South Dakota government information gathered from the three branches of South Dakota state government and the six South Dakota public universities' web sites. The program also provides access to state government publications that in the past have only been available in paper format. There are no limits to access. - South Dakota Grant Directory
A searchable database of 400+ foundations with a history of SD giving, as well as SD state government grant-making programs. There are no limits to access. - South Dakota Library Directory
A searchable directory of 400+ SD libraries of all types: public, K-12, academic, and special. There are no limits to access. - South Dakota Newspaper Association/SDNA Public & Legal Notices
Locate public and legal notices published in South Dakota Newspapers. Notices are archived for three months. This resource is provided as a public service by the South Dakota Newspaper Association members. There are no limits to access.
T
- Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
V
- ValueLine Research Center
Provides timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles. Available exclusively on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.
W
- Web Feet
The best websites, chosen by teachers and librarians, are evaluated, annotated and organized by Library of Congress subject headings. Subject areas covered include curriculum areas and selected general reference sites.Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - World Book Advanced (grades 9-12+)
Powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases. Features include the ability to create timelines, save research to a personalized homepage, and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Kids (grades K-5)
This resource contains thousands of easy to read articles, interactive games, teacher resources and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Online Reference Center (grades 5-9)
Find all the articles from the 22-print volume set plus thousands more reference articles. World Book Online Reference Center has thousands of selected web links, historical features, audio, video and animation, student activities and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Student (grades K-9)
(new Sept 2008--will replace World Book Online Reference Center)
This resource contains encyclopedia articles, maps, images, news, timelines, and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- WorldCat (The OCLC Online Union Catalog)
A worldwide catalog of 56 million items found in 9,000+ libraries, including State Library & 25+ SD libraries. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.Users: You will be asked for your username and password to access. This is your State Library Card or SDLN Member Library Card barcode and password. If you need your password, you may call the State Library at 1-800-423-6665 (SD Only) or 605-773-3131 or your local library.




