Remote Access with Library Card
If you are experiencing problems accessing any of the databases contact an Electronic Resources Coordinator at 605-773-3131 or via email.
- Aberdeen American News (1995-present)(via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the Aberdeen American News. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- America's News Magazines (via Newsbank)
Full-text articles from 26 popular news magazines. Browse by title or search current or archived issues.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls) (1999-present) (via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the The Argus Leader. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- EBSCOHost (all)
Links to six EBSCOHost databases: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, Teacher Reference Center, and Regional Business News. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (Spanish Language Encyclopedia)
Traducción de lengua española de la enciclopedia del descubrimiento del estudiante del libro del mundo. Los artículos, los mapas y las imágenes son incluidos.
Spanish-language translation of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, maps and images are included. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas-health, history, government & law, science, education and business. These resources are available to an unlimited number of users at one time. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- HeritageQuest
Of interest to those researching local history and family histories, it includes U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 thru 1930; 25,000+ family and local history books (every word searchable); the PERiodical Source Index/PERSIT (a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy & local history periodicals); and Revolutionary War Pension & Bounty Land Warrant Application Files. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- InfoTrac (all)
Links to six Gale InfoTrac databases. Discovering Collection (grades 6-12); InfoTrac Junior Edition (middle schools); Junior Reference Collection; Kids InfoBits (grades K-5); Professional Collection; and InfoTrac Student Edition (high schools). Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- L'Encyclopédie Découverte (French Language Encyclopedia)
L'Encyclopédie Découvertes (World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia) Les articles, les images, le diccionaire visuel, les activités et les Websites consultés sont comprise.
French-language version of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, images, a visual dictionary, activities and reviewed websites are included. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Learning Express Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more. Complete answer explanations and study suggestions. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- LexisNexis Congressional, Statistical and State Capital
Provides access to state, federal and statistical information including the Federal Register, Congressional Record, state resources and compiled statistical resources. (more information)
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.
- netLibrary
Full text of 10,000+ commercially published books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers & more, plus Cliffs Notes. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.
- Newsbank Special Reports
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- ProQuest (1986+)
Provides the full text (image or text+graphics) from 1,700+ magazines/journals and newspapers for k-12, college, and general users, including Barron's. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Sanborn Maps-SD
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for 82 South Dakota communities from 1867 to 1970. Available 1) from home office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- SIRS Discoverer (grades K-9)
Full-text articles and graphics from more than 1,600 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents, which were carefully selected for their educational content, interest and level of readability for middle and elementary curriculum topics. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- SIRS Researcher ® (grades 6-12)
A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Web Feet
The best websites, chosen by teachers and librarians, are evaluated, annotated and organized by Library of Congress subject headings. Subject areas covered include curriculum areas and selected general reference sites.Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Advanced (grades 9-12+)
Powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases. Features include the ability to create timelines, save research to a personalized homepage, and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Kids (grades K-5)
This resource contains thousands of easy to read articles, interactive games, teacher resources and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Online Reference Center (grades 5-9)
Find all the articles from the 22-print volume set plus thousands more reference articles. World Book Online Reference Center has thousands of selected web links, historical features, audio, video and animation, student activities and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Student (grades K-9)
(new Sept 2008--will replace World Book Online Reference Center)
This resource contains encyclopedia articles, maps, images, news, timelines, and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- WorldCat (The OCLC Online Union Catalog)
A worldwide catalog of 56 million items found in 9,000+ libraries, including State Library & 25+ SD libraries. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.Users: You will be asked for your username and password to access. This is your State Library Card or SDLN Member Library Card barcode and password. If you need your password, you may call the State Library at 1-800-423-6665 (SD Only) or 605-773-3131 or your local library.




