Education and Libraries
If you are experiencing problems accessing any of the databases contact an Electronic Resources Coordinator at 605-773-3131 or via email.
- Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (Spanish Language Encyclopedia)
Traducción de lengua española de la enciclopedia del descubrimiento del estudiante del libro del mundo. Los artículos, los mapas y las imágenes son incluidos.
Spanish-language translation of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, maps and images are included. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (1966+)
Provides indexing and some full-text access to education literature and resources. There are no limits to access.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas-health, history, government & law, science, education and business. These resources are available to an unlimited number of users at one time. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- L'Encyclopédie Découverte (French Language Encyclopedia)
L'Encyclopédie Découvertes (World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia) Les articles, les images, le diccionaire visuel, les activités et les Websites consultés sont comprise.
French-language version of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, images, a visual dictionary, activities and reviewed websites are included. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Learning Express Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more. Complete answer explanations and study suggestions. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (mid 1960's)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State ibrary or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Professional Collection
Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators updated daily. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Web Feet
The best websites, chosen by teachers and librarians, are evaluated, annotated and organized by Library of Congress subject headings. Subject areas covered include curriculum areas and selected general reference sites.Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - World Book Advanced (grades 9-12+)
Powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases. Features include the ability to create timelines, save research to a personalized homepage, and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Kids (grades K-5)
This resource contains thousands of easy to read articles, interactive games, teacher resources and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Online Reference Center (grades 5-9)
Find all the articles from the 22-print volume set plus thousands more reference articles. World Book Online Reference Center has thousands of selected web links, historical features, audio, video and animation, student activities and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Student (grades K-9)
(new Sept 2008--will replace World Book Online Reference Center)
This resource contains encyclopedia articles, maps, images, news, timelines, and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- WorldCat (The OCLC Online Union Catalog)
A worldwide catalog of 56 million items found in 9,000+ libraries, including State Library & 25+ SD libraries. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.Click for more info.Users: You will be asked for your username and password to access. This is your State Library Card or SDLN Member Library Card barcode and password. If you need your password, you may call the State Library at 1-800-423-6665 (SD Only) or 605-773-3131 or your local library.




