News and Newspapers
If you are experiencing problems accessing any of the databases contact an Electronic Resources Coordinator at 605-773-3131 or via email.
- Aberdeen American News (1995-present)(via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the Aberdeen American News. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Access Newspaper Archive
Searchable worldwide newspapers from 1759-1977 (excluding South Dakota). View, print or save full page historical newspapers. Access inside K-12 school or public libraries only-no at home access.
- America's News Magazines (via Newsbank)
Full-text articles from 26 popular news magazines. Browse by title or search current or archived issues.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls) (1999-present) (via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the The Argus Leader. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls) Index (1996-July, 2003)
Indexes and provides citations (only) to selected articles published in the Sioux Falls "Argus Leader" newspaper from January, 1996 to July, 2003. Includes obituaries; does not include national news or columns (unless relevant to SD). There are no limits to access.
- Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls) Index (1982-1995)
Indexes and provides citations (only) to selected articles published in the Sioux Falls "Argus Leader" newspaper from January, 1982 to December 1995. Does not include national news or columns (unless relevant to SD), obituaries, birth/engagement/wedding announcements, daily sports, public notices, minutes of government meetings, or police records. There are no limits to access.
- Deadwood Historical Newspapers Index (1876-1905)
Indexes issues from 1876 to 1905 of these historic Deadwood papers: "Black Hills Pioneer," "Black Hills Times," and "Black Hills Champion". There are no limits to access.
- Indian Country Today Index (1996 - June, 2003)
Indexes and provides citations (only) to articles published in the "Indian Country Today" newspaper from January, 1996 thru June, 2003. There are no limits to access. - NewsBank's America's Newspapers
Full text of current and archived electronic editions of nearly 700+ local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers-all in one easy to search interface. Includes the The Argus Leader, Aberdeen American News, Minneapolis Tribune, Denver Post, Washington Post, New York Times, etc. Available only within the State Library building. - Newsbank Special Reports
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Rapid City Journal (1999+)
Index to articles published in the Rapid City Journal newspaper. There are no limits to access.
- Regional Business News
A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - South Dakota Newspaper Association/SDNA Public & Legal Notices
Locate public and legal notices published in South Dakota Newspapers. Notices are archived for three months. This resource is provided as a public service by the South Dakota Newspaper Association members. There are no limits to access.




